Semi-Skinny Bitch

Ready, Set, Bacon Veggie!
So technically I’ve been vegetarian for about 3 and a half weeks. So far, I don’t miss meat. Well, we did go to Rexy’s Bangkok Cuisine and I was a little sad I wasn’t ordering my usual Pad Kee Mao (Minced chicken, basil leaves and green peppers). But other than that I feel great about making the decision to try this out.
I can’t tell any real differences lately, only that I feel like I have a little bit more energy in the morning. But I don’t know if it’s my eating habits or that I’m just sleeping harder because I am trying to incorporate more running in my life.

So- Here are some of the meals the Hubby and I have tried already.

http://www.vegcooking.com/recipeshow.asp?RequestID=380&Search=stuffed+peppers

Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

1 cup orzo pasta
4 peppers (green, orange, red, or yellow)
2/3 cup tightly packed fresh parsley
1/4 cup soy parmesan “cheese”
2 Tbsp. chopped walnuts
1 1/2 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. salt, divided
1 clove garlic
1/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
12 oz. faux ground beef-style crumbles
1 medium tomato, seeded and chopped
1 12-oz. jar tomato sauce

• Preheat the oven to 350°F.
• Cook the orzo pasta according to the directions on the package. Drain and set aside.
• Fill a large pot with water and bring to a boil. Cut the tops off the peppers (save them) and scrape out the insides, removing the seeds. Place the peppers into the boiling water, simmer for 3 minutes, remove from the water, and invert them onto a paper towel to drain.
• Place the parsley, soy parmesan, walnuts, basil, 1/2 tsp. of the salt, and the garlic into a food processor and pulse until blended. With the food processor running, slowly add 1/4 cup of the olive oil and continue processing to form a smooth pesto.
• In a large skillet, brown the beef-style crumbles in the remaining oil over medium heat. Stir in the orzo, pesto, the remaining 1/2 tsp. of salt, and the chopped tomato. Continue cooking, stirring frequently, until the mixture is heated through.
• Pour the tomato sauce into an 8-inch glass baking dish. Fill the peppers with the “beef” mixture and place them into the baking dish. Put the pepper tops back on and bake for 20 minutes.

Serves:
4 People.
Very filling. You can probably cut time down, by just buying pesto. Presentation is fun- will probably make again for guests.
Rating: 7.5
I plan on doubling the tomato sauce. Mmm. Pls, who doesn love Orzo

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/tofu-burritos/
Tofu Burritos
Ingredients
* 1 cup rice, cooked to the package directions
* 1/2 can refried beans
* 1/2 of a 12-ounce package soft tofu, finely chopped
* 1 cup shredded yellow cheddar cheese
* 1 cup store-bought salsa, plus extra for serving alongside
* 4 scallions, finely chopped
* 2 tablespoons cilantro, finely chopped
* 1 pint sour cream
* 1 package 9-inch flour tortillas (burrito-size)
Serves: A freaking ton. Could make for a party of 6-10.
Yum!  Couldn’t even taste the tofu!
Rating: 8.
I would make these again. It’s ridiculously easy to make. The hubby said to up the rice so it a cup in a half.

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/roasted-ratatouille-pasta/
Roasted Ratatouille Pasta
Ingredients
* Extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO), for drizzling
* 1 head garlic
* 1 medium eggplant, ends removed, peeled and cut into small chunks
* 2 to 3 medium zucchini, ends removed, quartered and into small chunks
* 2 red bell peppers, cored, seeds removed and cut into small chunks
* 1 large onion, cut into small chunks
* 4 sprigs thyme, leaves removed
* Salt and freshly ground black pepper
* 1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes
* 1 pound whole wheat penne
* 1/2 cup Italian parsley, chopped
* 1/2 cup (a large handful) grated Parmigiano-Reggiano, plus more to pass at the table
It says four servings… but I think it looks more like six. Hey. Who would of known? Eggplant is pretty fun to eat!
If I had to give this a rating– 10 being, I’m e-mailing my family about how amazing this… and 1 being, I threw it in the garbage after the first bite… I would say I would give it a 6.5.
The garlic didn’t stand out as much as I thought it would. And I thought maybe next time, I would add some red pepper flakes to kick it up a mini-notch. Pretty easy to make- just not really looking forward to doing the dishes… The hubby wasn’t the fan saying the veggies were too mushy. But I still thought it was decent.

Other Minor Notes:
(1) The Morning Star Chicken Patties are amazing. Cook, throw on a bun with hummus, mustard, and tomato and cha-chin- you have yourself a scrumptious meal!

(2) I made this over the 4th- and my entire family loved it!

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/mediterranean-feta-dip/

(3) Soy hotdogs… sadly are not as good as real hotdogs.

Leave a Reply

