Martha Stewart Eats This

I love my life a little more when I receive the Everyday Food magazine by Martha Stewart in my mailbox. My mother bought me a subscription for Christmas and I swear- it’s the gift that keeps on giving. It inspires me to cook unique meals on a weekday. The unique meals just happen to be healthy and pretty quick to make. It’s a very well organized and attractive little magazine- and it does not matter what your cooking level is- this has something for everyone’s skills and taste buds! 🙂

These are two recipes that I made this week out of the latest copy (September 2008 ).

Cuban Black-Bean Stew W/ Rice
Serves: 4
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Total time: 30 minutes

*If you want, serve this protein rich vegetarian dish with brown rice to boost up the health factor even more. It’s also delicious with chips or tortillas alongside.

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups long grain white rice
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium red onion
1 garlic clove, minced (But as always, I doubled… okay tripled)
1 red bell pepper (ribs and seeds removed), chopped
2 cans (19 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can  (14.5 oz) vegetable broth
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
½ tablespoon dried oregano
Coarse salt and ground pepper

Garnishes (optional) lime wedges, fresh cilantro, and sliced radishes.

***The only thing I didn’t have was a radish and I ran out of red onion so I just used white. I think if you make this- the lime wedges and fresh cilantro are excellent add-on’s and are a “must” to make this meal memorable.

Directions:
(1) Prepare rice according to package directions. Meanwhile, heat oil in large saucepan over medium. Add onion, garlic, and bell pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, 8 – 10 minutes.

(2) Add beans, broth, vinegar, and oregano. Cook, mashing some beans with the spoon, until slightly thickened, 6 – 8 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Fluff rice with a fork. Serve beans over rice, with garnishes if desired.

***The hubby loved this and we both thought it was excellent the day afterwards.

Also, in this month’s copy, I made the Open-Faced Egg & Tomato Sandwich. Which honestly I think took me less than 10 minutes to make.

1. Take one whole-wheat English muffin split it and toast it (I only had wheat bread- so I used that)
2. Cut a thick tomato slice and put on English muffin. (But if you use a loaf of bread- use two slices per piece of bread.
3. Heat about a teaspoon of oil in a frying pan (on medium). Gently crack eggs and let them cook for 1-2 minutes.
4. When whites are almost set add a couple pieces of cheese over the yokes. Cover for another minute to let cheese melt. Slide one egg per slice of muffin/bread. Put some salt and pepper on it.

Voilà- Dinner or Breakfast is served! I think next time- if I still have any fresh basil or herbs- I will throw them on top. Hubby said he would eat this any day of the week.

One thought on “Martha Stewart Eats This

  1. Aaah! She’s making me hungrah. I’ve been so terrible at cooking since I moved out here, you’re going to inspire me, friend!

    -N.

Leave a Reply

