Unpacking my Spoons

I have a new kitchen.

Well, to expand on that – we have a new place, and a new city to call home- Chicago. We moved here last week for a job opportunity. I will always be a Detroiter at heart, but I have to say so far, being “Chicagoan” is pretty fun. My new job allows me to surround myself with cooking and baking. So, to say the least, I’m pretty excited. 🙂  The hubby and I are getting our little flat in Andersonville (In North Chicago) looking like “home”.  I hope to be entertaining family and close friends by next weekend.

Hmmm, so what have I have I made lately? Oh! Last night- the hubby and I were both exhausted after long days- so I threw a can of drained black beans, garlic salt, onion powder and some olive oil in a skillet for three minutes.  Then I added small can of drained and pre-sliced black olives, a couple handfuls of shredded cheese and about 5 oz salsa. Serve with tortilla chips. Yum! Dinner in 5 minutes.

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

Today one of my coworkers and I went to the Carnivale- a fantastic and lively Latino restaurant in the West Loop. Even on a cold Chicago day- this place feels like perfect summer gathering. The use of bright colors and the lively music- my oh my- it made want to dance in my seat!
I felt a little limited in my vegetarian friendly meal choices but eh, I realize I feel like that everywhere I go.
I had the fish tacos, which were excellent. And the guacamole is a must have appetizer. And I couldn’t get over how delicious my Arnie Palmer was- honestly it was the BEST I think I ever had. Portions were a good size- plan to have leftovers. Service was friendly. Ask them about the story behind their short ties.

Actually, while we were there we were able to meet Jerry Kleiner, the owner the place. It was fun chatting it up with him.  Being from Detroit, I didn’t realize he actually owns multiple restaurants.  Hmmm- J and I might need to go on some field trips. After trying Carnivale, I would dine at any of Kleiner’s establishments.

http://www.carnivalechicago.com/

Leave a Reply

