These are some of my favorite things…

My Weather Channel iPhone app has assured me it’s going to be “bitterly cold” for the next 36 hours.

They weren’t kidding.  Buuurrrrrrrrr

It's beginning to look like Christmas... wait. Err...

It's beginning to look like Christmas... wait. Err...

Tonight to help me thaw out is Mom’s [Favorite] Tea. It’s just black tea with lots of sugar and half & half.  Mom used to make it for us when we were sick. So I crave it when I’m feeling [home]sick or I just want to treat my taste buds. Today I figured that I’m going to shiver any calories off anyways.

Pure tea goodness in a mug.

Pure tea goodness in a mug.

Tonight was going to be a new recipe night… but then life happened. Thus, I made a morning star BLT with Morning Star Bacon. (The hubby is addicted to it and likes to call it Fakeon.) Instead of mayo I like to put hummus. And tonight we had Spinach instead of Lettuce. I know tomatoes aren’t in season, but I still buy them- because I seem to incorporate them into every meal I have some way or another.

Like last night.

We made a botana. Botanas = Pimped out Nachos. I love making this meal because it’s quick, versatile, easy, and filling. Easy to make for a crowd or for two people.

We’ve made it so many ways. Last night it was this:

Heat oven to 375 Degrees.

1.5 bags of chips  (We use Tostitos MultiGrain)

1 can of refried beans (Vegetarian)
1 packet of boca meat

In a small saucepan mix both with a little water and garlic powder on low.  Add chips to a cooking sheet. (Might want to have ones with edges so that the chips don’t slip off)

1 Red pepper- Chopped
1 Bag of your favorite cheese mix (Last night we used Colby)

Spoon warm bean/meat mix on the chips. Spread bag of cheese around. Scatter red pepper around. (Unless then you like them crunchy- then leave them to the end). Put into the oven for 10ish minutes (Take out when cheese has melted and chips are slightly turning color)

Add whatever toppings you like after you take it out. My ideal botana has tomatoes, guacamole or diced avocado, onions (green), sour cream (or plain yogurt), and red salsa. The hubby loves to put hot sauce on his also. Last time we made it- we put drained back olives on in it. Honestly, it’s hard to screw up a botana.

)

Botana's = Pimped out Nachos. 🙂

Cut with a pizza cutter and serve with a spatula and decorate to your liking.  The hubby eats his with a fork- I just use my fingers (though it’s a bit messier that way). Just bring extra napkins. Enjoy!

Tomorrow though, I’ll venture out of my everyday recipes and try something new.

One thought on “These are some of my favorite things…

Leave a Reply

