Cherry + Ginger = Tonight’s Dessert!

Our good friends came over last weekend (and spoiled us greatly with some of the best restaurants around town! ).
They both have unique health diets. One is lactose intolerant. Other is allergic to shellfish, bananas, and some types of mushroom.
And me in trying out my vegetarian ways… it’s somewhat challenging in the kitchen to cook for all of us.

I feel bad. I meant to cook or bake for them while they were here but I wasn’t finding the creative energy. I found it today though. Here is something I tried out.

I wanted to marry two of my favorite sweet flavors. Ginger and Maraschino Cherries.
I love how ginger refreshes everything it touches.  I love the color and texture and taste of a maraschino cherry.  True story… I once ate an entire bowl of Maraschino cherries when I was young. I just love them.

Ingredients I used:

½ cup of water
Handful of dried cherries
2 tablespoons: Crystallized Ginger
6 oz of Maraschino Cherries (drained and diced)
2 teaspoons: cinnamon
Pillsbury® Refrigerated Pie Crust
Blackberry Jam
Handful of pistachio nuts- (chopped in little bits)
Optional:
Whipping cream (1 cup)
1 teaspoon of vanilla
2 teaspoons of sugar

This is how I put it together:
Take one piecrust out. Add a little flour to your cutting board. Cut out two decent sized squares, or triangles.

Spray a muffin top pan and preheat the oven to 375.  Lay the shapes over the muffin top indentations. With left over dough, reroll into one piece and continue to cut pieces. I think 4 shapes = 1 piecrust.

Take Blackberry Jelly and put at least a tablespoon in the middle.
Take minced nuts at sprinkle on top of jelly.

In small saucepan add ½ cup of water and handful of dried cherries. Add crystallized ginger and bring to boil. Add cinnamon. Stir and watch. After a couple of minutes once it looks like cherries are soaking up juices- turn off.

On a cutting board take drained maraschino cherries and dice up. Drain ginger- cherry mix and chop and mix with the maraschino cherries. Put a whole scoopful on over the nuts and jam.

Bring corners of dough together and pinch closed (might need a little water to keep closed.

Put into oven and bake for 8-10 minutes.

Optional: While baking- take heavy cream and whip it up in the kitchen aid. Add a dash of vanilla and a couple teaspoons of sugar. With take a few minutes to turn into whipped cream. (Helpful if bowl is cold like cream).

little and cute and full of flavor! :D

little and cute and full of flavor! 😀

To Serve:
If you made the whipping cream- put a big spoonful in the middle of the plate. Place mini-pie on top.  Sprinkle with cherries and nuts.

Lot’s of fun! The ginger popped out just the way I wanted it to! The nuts prevented it from seeming too sweet. Probably could be turned into a big pie… but the small pies are fun for presentation.

Ginger + Cherry = Happy Me

Ginger + Cherry = Happy Me

The Reaction?
I thought this was lot’s of fun! The ginger popped out just the way I wanted it to! The nuts prevented it from seeming too sweet. Probably could be turned into a big pie… but the small pies are fun for presentation.

When the hubby ate it (w/o the whipped cream)- he said it was a unique hybrid of a cherry pie and an Arabic dessert that his grandmother used to make (sounds like coal lay cha). Pretty good for not having any recipes or cook books in front of me. ☺

Leave a Reply

